Liebster Award + A bit about myself!

The Liebster award is awarded by other bloggers. It’s  a way for readers to discover new blogs. Thank you, CookiesnChem for the nomination! 🙂
 liebster3

“Hi! I love reading your blog so much that I nominated you for the Liebster Award! You are such a talented photographer and everything you make makes me drool – especially the chickpea salads and this incredible salmon dish(…) Thanks for putting together such awesome posts and I hope you have a wonderful week!”– CookiesnChem

Rules:

  1. List 11 facts about yourself
  2. Answer 11 questions from your nominator
  3. Nominate 11 blogs for this award
11 facts about myself:
  1. I listen to Etta James for inspiration.
  2. One of my goals is to be able to identify any plant that I come across.
  3. I love Roald Dahl’s books.
  4. The best job I’ve ever had is being a Chinese herbal pharmacist at a TCM clinic.
  5. I graduated from of The School of  Traditional Chinese Medicine.
  6. There are a few people in this world who have touched my heart with their enthusiasm for the people and things that they love. Two people I can think of are my Uncle in Hong Kong, who became a Chinese Medicine doctor at the age of 30, and my friend Alex, who always delights me with his knowledge of Chinese Culture.
  7. I easily find something to like about everyone I meet.
  8. I love piglets.
  9. I’ve had one recurring dream in my life: I am with dog in the middle of a crowd, and when I ask surrounding people who the pup belongs to, everyone tells me that it’s mine. And I get excited because I’ve always wanted one. But by the time I wake up, I am disappointed. And dog-less.
    Every subsequent time I’ve had this dream, I get more and more suspicious that everyone around me is pulling my leg again, and the same old thing happens. But I recently realized that since I met my close friend 3 years ago,  I haven’t had the dream again. And according to the Chinese zodiac, she was born in the year of the dog!
  10. I grew up in a family- run restaurant, where I learned a lot about cooking and Chinese cuisine.
  11. I like to clear my mind every day.
 
My answers to Cookiesnchem’s questions:
  1. What is the #1 thing you’ve learned by blogging? Do you have any blog inspirations?
    The #1 thing I’ve learned by blogging is to share what you want to. Don’t overextend or overinhibit your self-expression. I really love “Smittenkitchen”, and “Un-Fancy”.
  2. Do you believe in aliens? Ghosts?
    My best friend has so many stories about Ghost encounters, and she has me hanging on to her every word. I myself have never had an encounter with either, but I always listen to people’s stories about them with open ears.
  3. If today were your last day alive, would you do what you are about to do today?
    I would probably not tell the people I love, but instead leave them a letter.
    And I would probably buy a plane ticket to a secluded tropical beach with a beautiful coral reef and snorkle until I die.
  4. Are you a modern guy/gal or more old-fashioned?
    I try to understand the wisdom of old-fashioned ideas and apply them to modern life.
  5. If a friend treated you the way you treat yourself, would he/she still be your friend?
    Yes.
  6. What are your thoughts on reincarnation?
    I’m not sure that I believe the same spirit can begin a new life in a new body. But I do  think that certain behaviours and beliefs are passed down from generation to generation. So in a way, unresolved destructive behaviours reincarnate in future generations until someone along that lineage decides to break the cycle.
  7. Is there something you LOVE doing, but never do? What is it and why don’t you do it?
    No, the things I love doing are the things I do often. But there are things I don’t like to do, and never do.
  8. You’re on a weird desert island where you can choose 3 meals and 1 dessert to eat FOREVER. What are they?
    Meals:
    1. Pho
    2. Grilled Chicken Vermicelli
    3. Palak Paneer with Pulao Rice
    Dessert: Apples
  9. Are you a procrastinator?
    …Yes.
  10. What do you do to stay in shape?
    I bike daily, and have recently started doing weights. I also walk for several hours a week.
  11. “Follow directions with baking. Go by your own taste with cooking.” What do you think?
    I agree. Especially for beginners such as myself, baking relies on precision more so than cooking.  However, I find that as you get better at either, it’s easier to make personal adjustments that make the final product uniquely yours.

Blog nominations on my next post. Stay tuned!

4 thoughts on “Liebster Award + A bit about myself!

Leave a Reply

